Devon Rotary awards $9, 000 in Scholarships

To 10 Exceptional High School Graduates

(July 15, 2022 ) −   Devon Rotary Club, through its charitable trust,  recently awarded  scholarships with a total value of $9,000 to 10 graduating high school seniors, in recognition of their academic achievement, and  their service to their school and the community at large. 

Joining Devon Rotary in this effort were the Milford Arts Council and Shoreline Rotaract Club, which is a multi-town Rotary-affiliated organization for young professionals. Each of these organizations participated by awarding Individual $1,000 scholarships to two graduates.

The winners are selected by a committee of Devon Rotary foundation members. Scholarships were made possible thanks to donations from individual club members or other individuals, plus matches from the foundation

The honorees and their scholarships were:

From Jonathan Law High School:

Angela Kim Chu, daughter of Thomas Nulty and Agnes Chu, the $1,000 Paul Austin  Scholarship to be used to help Agnes major in forensic science at the University of New Haven. The scholarship is renewable, providing the recipient  continues to be enrolled as a full-time  student and maintains a 3.0 Grade Point Average (GPA). 

Luke Henricksen, son of Brian and Amy Henricksen Hanson, the one-time $1,000 Henry F. Scopp Sr. Memorial Scholarship, to be used to help Luke study finance at Florida Southern College.

Lindsay Konlian, daughter of Christopher and Stacy Konlian, the one-time  $1,000 Barbara Burwell Gaynor Memorial Scholarship to help Lindsay in her health sciences / pre-med studies at the University of Miami.

Aiden Morrissey, daughter of Sean and Elizabeth Morrissey, two $1,000 Milford Arts Council scholarships to help Aiden study mechanical or aerospace engineering at the University of Connecticut.

From Joseph A. Foran High School:

Mivette Garcia, daughter of Miguel and Evette Garcia, a one-time $1,000 John D. Gaynor Memorial Scholarship to help Mivette study entrepreneurship at Morgan State University in Maryland.

From Hopkins School

Chris Ruaño, son of Gualberto Ruaño and Ana Marie Gomes, a one-time $1,000 Bridge House Restaurant Scholarship to support Chris in his double major (government and economics) studies at Harvard.

From Amity Regional High School

Evan Jurzyk, son of Rick and Lisa Jurzyk, a one-time $1,000 William T. Dale Tools of the Trade Award, which he will use to purchase the tools and supplies he will need to pursue his career in plumbing .

From St. Joseph High School

Lindsay Capobianco, daughter of Christopher and Elizabeth Capobianco, a  one-time $2,000 James J. Maroney Sr. and John D. Malarkey Scholarship, to support her pursuit of an elementary education degree at Sacred Heart University.

 From Notre Dame High School, West Haven

Jack Weber, son of Rich and Leighton Weber, a one-time $1,000 Shoreline Rotaract Club Scholarship, which Jack will use to pursue a degree in health sciences at St. Michael’s College in Vermont and ultimately a career in physical therapy. While in Notre Dame, Jack was a member of the Interact Club, which is the high school version of Rotary.

“We are proud to be able to assist these young scholars in the furtherance of their academic pursuits,” said John Kuehnle, a former club president and current chair of the club’s scholarship committee. “We wish them well in the future.”

 About Devon Rotary

Devon Rotary is a group of area business professionals who volunteer their time to perform community service and raise money for community projects and scholarships, both locally and internationally  Devon Rotary is one of more than 35,000 clubs worldwide, with more than 1.2 million members. To learn more about the club or Rotary International, visit or .





Devon Rotary Announces

2022-23 Officers & Board

 (July 1, 2022)  -- Devon Rotary has announced its officers and directors for 2022-23.  Serving as president of the Club will be Jason Jenkins, with Joseph Rousseau serving as president-elect.  Serving as vice president will be Donald Anderson III, with Paula Demirjian serving as club secretary. Sue Shields will serve again as finance director and Vincent Lambiase as treasurer. Serving as sergeant-at-arms will be Anthony Andriolas.

 Serving as assistant secretary will be Paul Otzel, with Angela Gallagher and Mark Krom serving as assistant sergeants-at-arms.

 Serving as directors on the Club’s Board, in addition to the club officers, will be Scott Moulton, Brian Parke, Sue Lambiase, Erika Shea, and Tracey Lee Edwards,  the Club’s immediate past president.  All terms will be for one year.

 At its recent installation ceremony, the Club honored Gary Montano, owner of Montano Cigarette, Candy and Tobacco, with its Evio Giovanelly Award, which annually goes to a non-Rotarian, in recognition of his or her extensive community service benefitting the City of Milford.

 Also recognized, was former Club president, Lee Cooke with its Oliver Andrus Founders / Rotarian of the Year Award,  in recognition of his service to the Club.  Vincent Lambiase was awarded the Paul Harris Award for outstanding contributions.

 Devon Rotary is a group of area business professionals who volunteer their time to raise funds and perform community service. The Club is one of the more than 34,000 clubs worldwide, with a total global membership of 1.2 million. Rotary International’s mission is to bring together business and professional leaders to provide humanitarian services, encourage high ethical standards in all vocations, and to advance goodwill and peace around the world. It is a non-political and non-sectarian organization open to all regardless of race, creed, religion, sexual orientation, or political preference.

 For further information about Devon Rotary email us at:


Children's Trout Derby ~ Milford Duck Pond             
 (May 7, 2022)   In spite of the rainy weather the Children's Trout Derby was full of dedicated Little Fisherfolk!  As a proud sponsor we engaged and took many pictures
of the kids holding their Prize Fish. We support the event each year by supplying fish to the pond and truly enjoy seeing the smiles on the children's faces when they pull in their catch! 


Devon Rotary Honored By Milford Historical Society For

“Raising The Roof” Support

The Devon Rotary was recently honored by the Milford Historical Society for the $10,000 gift the Club made to the Society, through its charitable trust, to finance roofing repairs to two of the Society’s historic houses.

The two houses involved were the Clark-Stockade House, built around 1780 and the Bryan-Downs House, built around 1785. As part of the project, old cedar singles were replaced by new ones that were authentic to the period when the houses were built.

In gratitude for its generosity, the Historical Society presented Devon Rotary officials with a plaque, which will hang in the visitors’ entrance to the Clark-Stockade House.

Pictured in the attached photo are (back row, left to right) Chris Bishop, first vice president and treasurer of the Historical Society and Lloyd Jacobs, Society president. Representing Devon Rotary were (front row, left to right, James Secondi, chair and Attorney Paul Otzel, secretary and treasurer of the Club’s Foundation Trust and Al May, 2020-21 club president.

For more information on Devon Rotary, go to For more information on the Milford Historical Society, go to



Club Leaders
Website Sponsors